Punjab Kings

A very energetic IPL team Punjab Kings is one of the most popular teams representing Punjab. If Punjab Kings is your favorite team then this post will be very helpful for you. Here, we are going to discuss more this team so keep reading for more. 

They were among the oldest IPL teams before known as Kings XI Punjab. Read about IPL 2023 Schedule.

Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings is a professional cricket team that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is based in Mohali, Punjab, and was founded in 2008. The franchise was originally named Kings XI Punjab and was renamed Punjab Kings in 2021. 

The team has yet to win an IPL championship.

So, in this post, we will be discussing more this team. It’s the player’s list and who is a captain in the upcoming 2023 IPL season. This post will be very informative for you so read it completely. 

Punjab Kings Major Detials

The Punjab Kings is a franchise cricket team that represents the city of Mohali in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Coached by Anil Kumble and led by KL Rahul, the team has some big names in their squad, including Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, and Mohammed Shami. 

The team finished sixth in the previous season, but they will be hoping to improve on that this year. You will read the complete team details below. 

With a strong batting lineup and some talented bowlers, the Punjab Kings will be looking to strike a balance between their attacking prowess and defensive capabilities to win matches and make a mark in the 2023 IPL.

Tournament NameIndian Premier League 2023
Team Name Punjab Kings 
Team Owner Mohit Burman (46%), Ness Wadia (23%), Preity Zinta (23%), Karan Paul (8%)
Season 2023 CaptainMayank Agarwal
Total Players 23-25
Home Town Stadium PCA Stadium, Mohali & Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore.
Team Coach Anil Kumble
Official Website https://www.punjabkingsipl.in/

Who is the Captain of the Punjab Kings?

KL Rahul is the current captain of the Punjab Kings in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Shikhar Dhawan, who is also a wicket-keeper and a top-order batsman, has been a vital player for the team since he joined them in 2018. 

He was appointed as the team’s captain in 2020 and has been leading the side ever since.

Shikhar is known for his calm and composed demeanor on the field, and his ability to lead from the front. He has been a consistent performer with the bat for the Punjab Kings and has scored runs at an impressive strike rate. 

Punjab Kings

His leadership skills have also been praised by his teammates and the coaching staff, who believe that he is the ideal captain for the team.

Under Shikhar’s captaincy, the Punjab Kings have shown promise, and have come close to reaching the playoffs in the past two seasons. With his experience and leadership qualities, Shikhar will be hoping to lead the team to success in the upcoming 2023 IPL season.

PK Offical 2023 List

Player Name Age Team Role 
Shikhar Dhawan Batter37
Shahrukh KhanBatter27
Bhanuka RajapaksaBatter-Wicketkeeper31
Jonny BairstowBatter-Wicketkeeper33
Prabhsimran SinghBatter-Wicketkeeper22
Jitesh SharmaBatter-Wicketkeeper29
Raj BawaAll-rounder20
Rishi DhawanBowler32
Liam LivingstoneAll-rounder29
Kagiso RabadaBowler27
Arshdeep SinghBowler23
Baltej SinghBowler32
Atharva TaideBatting All-rounder22
Rahul ChaharBowler23
Harpreet BrarBowler27
Nathan EllisBowler28
Harpreet Singh BhatiaBowler21
Vidwath KaverappaBowler32
Sam CurranAll-rounder24
Sikandar RazaAll-rounder26
Mohit RatheeAll-rounder23
Shivam SinghAll-rounder26

Teams Stats 

Batting Stats

Most Runs KL Rahul: 2548 runs

  • Most Centuries: Hashim Amla, KL Rahul: 2
  • Most Fifties: KL Rahul: 25
  • Fastest Fifty: KL Rahul: 14 balls
  • Fastest Century: David Miller: 38 balls
  • Best Batting Average: KL Rahul: 56.62
  • Best Strike Rate: Glenn Maxwell: 157.69
  • Most Sixes: KL Rahul: 110
  • Most Fours: Shaun Marsh: 266
  • Highest Individual Score: KL Rahul: 132*

Bowling Stats

  • Most Wickets: Piyush Chawla: 84 wickets
  • Best Economy: Ravi Bishnoi: 6.96
  • Best Bowling Figures: Ankit Rajpoot- 4-14-5
  • Best Bowling Average: Azhar Mahmood: 22.72
  • Most Maidens: Praveen Kumar: 10
  • Most Runs Conceded: Mujeeb Ur Rahman- 4-66-0
  • Most 4 Wickets: Andrew Tye: 3

Punjab King’s strategy in upcoming IPL 2023 

As the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) approaches, all eyes are on the Punjab Kings and their strategy for the tournament. The team, which finished sixth in the previous season, will be hoping to put in a stronger performance this year.

One of the key factors in the Punjab Kings’ success will be their batting lineup. 

The team has some strong hitters in their ranks, such as KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, and Nicholas Pooran. The team will look to these players to provide the fireworks with the bat and put up big totals on the board. 

Additionally, the team has also brought in some new players to strengthen their batting, such as Dawid Malan and Shahrukh Khan. You should also check our blog on Gujarat Titans.

But, batting alone won’t win matches, and the Punjab Kings will also need to focus on their bowling. The team has some talented bowlers in their squad, such as Mohammed Shami and Ravi Bishnoi, but they will need to step up and perform consistently throughout the tournament. 

The team has also brought in some new bowlers to add depth to their bowling attack, such as Adil Rashid and Nathan Ellis.

So, the Punjab Kings’ strategy for the upcoming IPL season will likely be to focus on their batting strength while also improving their bowling. If they can strike a balance between the two, they have the potential to be a strong contender in the tournament. 

Additionally, the team will also need to be flexible and adapt to the conditions and situations of each match to maximize their chances of success.

FAQ: Punjab Kings

Who is the captain of Punjab Kings 2023?

Now, in IPL 2023, Shikhar Dhawan will replace Mayank Agarwal as the Punjab Kings Captain.

How much does Preity Zinta earn in IPL?

2 -2.5 Crore per endorsement. She is also a Film Producer and a Television Host. Preity is also the co-owner of the Indian Premier League team King’s XI Punjab.

Who will be in PK squad 2023 after the auction?

Batters: Shikhar Dhawan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (SL), M. Shahrukh Khan, Atharva Taide, Harpreet Bhatia. All-rounders: Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone (ENG), Sam Curran (ENG), Sikandar Raza (ZIM), Shivam Singh, Mohit Rathee.


This was our guide on Punjab Kings. 

Which is your favorite team? Is it PK? If yes then share your views on whether it will win the IPL 2023 trophy or not. Let us know in the comment section below. 

We will update this post soon. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *