ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

The ICC Champions Trophy Winners List has been updated! Those who are looking for ICC Winners List should check this post completely. We have discussed this topic here. 

The ICC Champions Trophy has been a captivating tournament that has brought together top cricketing nations from around the world in an intense battle for supremacy. 

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

Since its start in 1998, this prestigious championship has seen thrilling contests, surprising upsets, and remarkable displays of skill and sportsmanship. 

In this blog, we delve into the ICC Champions Trophy Winners List, highlighting the teams that have emerged victorious over the years and the memorable moments that have etched their names in cricketing history. Read on for more. 

Also, Check Our Previous article Impact Of Powerplay In IPL.

What is ICC Championship Trophy

The ICC Championships encompass various prestigious cricket tournaments organized by the International Cricket Council

From the thrilling ICC Cricket World Cup to the fast-paced ICC T20 World Cup and the intense battles of the ICC Champions Trophy, these championships showcase the best teams from around the globe. 

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

With captivating matches, standout performances, and moments of sheer brilliance, the ICC Championships captivate fans and leave an indelible mark on the cricketing world.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List [Updated]

Here is an updated ICC champions trophy winners list. We have included the name of the winning teams, the host nations, and the runner-up teams, check the full table below. 

YearWinnerRunner Up  Host Nation
1998South AfricaWest IndiesBangladesh
2000New ZealandIndiaKenya
2002Sri Lanka & IndiaNoneSri Lanka
2004West IndiesEnglandEngland
2006AustraliaWest IndiesIndia
2009AustraliaNew ZealandSouth Africa
2013IndiaEnglandEngland & Wales
2017PakistanIndiaEngland & Wales

All Winners from Year [1998 to 2017]

Find out a quick overview of the winners of the ICC champions from 1998 to 2017. Also, read about IPL Winners List All Season.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

1998 Winner South Africa

The inaugural ICC KnockOut took place in Bangladesh, featuring nine teams. 

South Africa emerged as the champions after a thrilling tournament. Led by captain Hansie Cronje, they showcased their prowess in both batting and bowling, culminating in a comprehensive victory over the West Indies in the final. 

Jacques Kallis played a pivotal role, scoring an unbeaten century in the title clash.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

2000 Winner New Zealand

Kenya hosted the tournament, marking a significant milestone for cricket in the African nation. 

The event was filled with surprises and upsets, with minnows Kenya making it to the semifinals. But, it was New Zealand who emerged as the champions, defying the odds by defeating the formidable Indian team in a closely fought final. 

Chris Cairns’ all-round brilliance played a key role in New Zealand’s success.

2002 Winner Sri Lanka & India

The ICC Champions Trophy returned to the subcontinent as Sri Lanka hosted the tournament. Rain disruptions affected the schedule, but it didn’t dampen the competitive spirit. They made their names in the ICC Champions Trophy Winners List. 

India, led by Sourav Ganguly, showcased their dominance, reaching the final against the host nation. In a rain-reduced match, India emerged victorious, with Zaheer Khan’s impressive bowling sealing their victory.

2004 Winner West Indies

England hosted a memorable edition of the Champions Trophy, with high-scoring matches and thrilling encounters. 

The West Indies, led by captain Brian Lara, emerged as the surprise winners. 

Lara’s exceptional batting skills, along with the team’s collective efforts, guided them to victory over England in a thrilling final at The Oval.

2006 Winner Australia

India hosted the tournament, setting the stage for intense cricketing battles. 

Australia, led by Ricky Ponting, dominated the competition, showcasing their remarkable form and securing their first Champions Trophy title. 

With outstanding performances from Shane Watson, and Brett Lee, and a match-winning century by Ponting in the final against the West Indies, Australia reigned supreme.

2009 Winner Australia

South Africa hosted a fiercely contested edition of the Champions Trophy, with teams showcasing their skills in challenging conditions. Australia, aiming to defend their title, reached the final against New Zealand. 

Rain interruptions curtailed the match, resulting in a reduced-overs contest. 

Australia’s disciplined bowling and Shane Watson’s blistering knock guided them to victory, clinching their second consecutive title.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

2013 Winner India 

England and Wales hosted a highly competitive tournament, featuring some memorable performances. India, led by captain MS Dhoni, emerged triumphant after a resounding campaign. 

Their batting line-up, including Shikhar Dhawan‘s dazzling century in the final against England, and a balanced bowling attack, played a crucial role in their successful title campaign. So, with this India entered the ICC Champions Trophy Winners List. 

2017 Winner Pakistan

The final edition of the ICC Champions Trophy took place in England and Wales, capturing the attention of cricket fans worldwide. Pakistan considered an underdog, defied expectations and produced a remarkable turnaround. 

Led by Sarfaraz Ahmed, they displayed exceptional teamwork and resilience, culminating in a stunning victory over arch-rivals India in the final. Check Innings Break Time In Test Cricket.

Fakhar Zaman’s century and Mohammad Amir’s crucial early breakthroughs were standout performances in Pakistan’s historic triumph.

FAQ: ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

Who won the most ICC Champions Trophy?

The Pakistan national cricket team has represented Pakistan in international cricket since 1952. It is controlled by the Pakistan Cricket Board, the governing body for cricket in Pakistan, which is a Full Member of the International Cricket Council.

How many times has India won ICC Champions Trophy?

South Africa won the inaugural tournament, India and Australia have each won twice, while New Zealand, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Pakistan have each won once.

Has Kohli ever won ICC Trophy?

In 2020, the International Cricket Council named him the male cricketer of the decade. Kohli has also contributed to India’s successes, including winning the 2011 World Cup and the 2013 Champions trophy.


This was our guide on the ICC champions trophy winners list. 

We have included the winners from each year and an update on this topic will be done soon. Till then, make sure to share your views in the comment section. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *