Most Runs in IPL History in One Season

A very common question asked by IPL fans what are the most runs in IPL history in one season? As the Indian Premier League tournament is played every year and different teams create a high score, so in which and which team scored highest in IPL till now?

Read for more. 

Most Runs in IPL History in One Season

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most popular T20 cricket leagues in the world, known for its high-octane matches and star-studded lineups. Over the years, many players have set the tournament on fire with their batting performances, scoring a plethora of runs in a single season.

From Chris Gayle to Virat Kohli, the IPL has seen some outstanding batting displays, leaving fans in awe of their skills. 

The IPL 2023 Schedule is out now!

Here we will discuss the most runs in IPL history in one season by a team and the players with the highest runs in IPL in one season. The data listed here is taken from the official website and any change will be updated on this post soon. 

Team with Most Runs in IPL History in One Season

The team with the most runs in IPL history in one season is listed here. Every season different teams play against each other to lift the IPL trophy. During some seasons we get to see some amazing performances from IPL teams when they score very high runs. In this updated list we will be seeing which team has scored the most runs in IPL during one season. The data is listed as a recent match, any change will be updated soon. 

1Royal Challengers Banglore263/52013
2Chennai Super Kings246/52008
3Mumbai Indians235/12015
4Kolkata Kinght Riders 235/42023
5Punjab Kings232/22011
6Delhi Capitals231/42011
7Rajasthan Royals 223/52010
8Sunrisers Hyderabad219/22020
9Lucknow Super Giants 213/92023
10Gujarat Titans199/52022

Players with Highest Runs in IPL in One Season

The most runs in IPL history in one season can not only be achieved by teams but there are also players with the highest runs in IPL in one season. Some powerful batsmen who are known for their amazing batting perform very well on the pitch. This list includes players like Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, David Warner, and many more.

Here we have shared players with the highest runs in IPL in one season, with their runs, matches, highest score, team, and other factors. The table is based on official data. 

1Virat Kohli973201616RCB
2Jos Buttler863202217RR
3David Warner848201617SRH 
4Kane Williamson735201717SRH
5Chris Gayle733201215RCB
Most Runs in IPL History in One Season

Virat Kohli: Most Runs in One IPL Season

Virat Kohli, also known as King Kohli holds the record of scoring the most runs in IPL history in one season. During the Indian Premier League season 2016, he was playing for the team Royal Challengers Bangalore. He played a total of 16 matches in that season and scored 193 runs, which made him the top batsman on this list. His highest score was 113 runs and his average score was 81.33 runs. We got to see seven half-centuries and four centuries by him. 

Most Runs in IPL History in One Season

Jos Buttler: The High Scorer in IPL 2022

During the Indian Premier League season 2022, the most runs scored by an individual player was Jos Buttler. He was at top of the list in that season where he played 17 matches and scored a total of 863 runs. He is known for his amazing performance in most of the seasons and fans expect more from him. During that season he also made four half-centuries and four centuries, while playing for the Rajasthan Royals team. His team also made it to the final but lost to Gujarat Titans in IPL 2022. 

David Warner: The Scorer Warner

David Warner is currently playing for Delhi Capitals in Indian Premier League 2023. But in 2016 he was captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team when he scored the most runs in that season. He scored 848 runs in 17 matches of IPL 2016 where his highest score was 93* runs. Although Kohli was one of the best players during those seasons in 2016 Warner came top of the list and also received IPL orange cap in 2016. During the season he made nine half-centuries for his Sunrisers Hyderabad team. 

Kane Williamson: Most Run in IPL 2017

During the Indian Premier League season 2017, Kane Williamson became the player with the most runs in IPL history in one season by scoring 735 runs. He played 17 matches in that season for the Sunrisers Hyderabad team. As a captain of the team, he made it to the finals of the IPL that season. His highest score was 84. Williamson won the Orange Cap of that season by scoring eight half-centuries at a strike rate of over 142. 

Most Runs in IPL History in One Season

Chris Gayle: IPL Sixer Hitter 

One of the most powerful and best batsmen to have ever played in the Indian Premier League Chris Gayle appears next on the list. He holds many IPL records related to batting like the highest individual IPL scorers and the batsman to score the most centuries in IPL. He is on the list as in IPL 2012 he scored 733 runs in 15 matches. His average score was 61.08 in that season with a strike rate of 160.74. During the complete season, he scored seven centuries. He is known as IPL sixer king for this reason! 

Indian Premier League Popularity 

The popularity of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has skyrocketed since its start in 2008. The combination of cricket, entertainment, and glamour has captured the hearts of millions of fans across the globe. 

IPL has become a cultural phenomenon in India, attracting top international players and big-name sponsors. The league’s high-octane matches, with their innovative rules, have made it one of the most-watched sporting events in the world. 

The IPL has also given rise to a new generation of cricketing superstars, who have become household names. With its massive fan following and lucrative deals, the popularity of IPL is only set to increase in the years to come.

FAQ: Most Runs in IPL History in One Season

Who has scored the most runs in IPL history?

Virat Kohli has scored the most runs in IPL history, 6903 runs in 222 innings.

Who scored the most runs in IPL 2020?

KL Rahul scored the most runs in IPL 2020 (670 runs).

Which captain has the most wins in IPL?

MS Dhoni has won the most games in IPL as captain, with 128 wins.


This was our guide on the most runs in IPL history. This tournament has produced some memorable batting performances over the years, with many players achieving remarkable feats. The players who have made it to this list have played a crucial role in their team’s success and have left a lasting impression on the fans. 

We hope you enjoyed this journey down memory lane and would love to hear your thoughts and feedback in the comments section below. We will update this post soon! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *