IPL Purple Cap 2023

Do you know who is the winner of the IPL Purple Cap 2023 season? Well, recently the season 2023 of the Indian Premier League was played and we got a new IPL purple cap winner 2023. So, to know about the winner’s name and runner ups make sure to read this post till last. 

As we know that recently the Indian Premier League season 2023 was played and 10 teams participated. We got a winning team from this season that lifted the IPL 2023 Trophy. But also, some additional awards are given to individual players, like orange and purple caps. 

IPL Purple Cap 2023

In this blog, we will be discussing the IPL Purple Cap 2023 Winner. 

You will also read the other players who were next to the first position. So, to know more about this topic and get a full updated list on it, make sure to read this article completely. 

About IPL Purple Cap

The IPL Purple Cap is a coveted award presented to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket tournament. It represents the exceptional bowling skill and impact of a player throughout the competition. 

The recipient of the Purple Cap demonstrates their ability to consistently take wickets and disrupt the opposition’s batting line-up. 

This prestigious accolade adds an extra dimension of competition and excitement to the IPL, as bowlers strive to showcase their prowess and contribute to their team’s success. 

Read more about it here: Tata IPL 2022 Purple Cap List.

It serves as a recognition of the top performer, igniting thrilling battles on the cricket field and etching their name in IPL history. 

Winner of IPL Purple Cap 2023

The Winner of IPL Purple Cap 2023 is Mohammad Shami

M Shami is a fast bowler who was playing for Gujarat Titans Team this season. During this season he took 28 wickets in 65 overs and become the IPL purple cap winner of 2023. 

IPL Purple Cap 2023

His amazing performance took his team, Gujarat Titans to the final. But unfortunately, this tea lost against Chennai Super Kings. M Shami won the Purple Cap of IPL 2023.

Purple Cap Winners List in IPL 2023

As you read that Mohammad Shami is the IPL Purple Cap 2023 winner. But some other bowlers took many wickets throughout this season. Here we have shared an updated list of purple cap winners list in IPL 2023. 

Player NameTeamWicketsOvers
Mohammad ShamiGujrat Titans2865
Mohit SharmaGujrat Titans2744.1
Rashid KhanGujrat Titans2767
Piyush ChawlaMumbai Indians2261
Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals2152.5

FAQ: IPL Purple Cap 2023

Who is purple cap in IPL 2023?

Who won the purple cap in IPL 2023? Gujarat’s Mohammed Shami won the Purple Cap in IPL 2023 by taking 28 wickets in 17 matches with the best figures of 4/11.

Who is an orange cap in IPL 2023?

Gujarat’s Shubman Gill won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023. Gill has made 890 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 158.08. He scored 3 centuries and 4 half-centuries.

What is the prize money for the purple cap 2023?

There were three bowlers of the Gujarat Titans in the race for most wickets for the season but Shami who led the list for the majority of the time towards the end of the season managed to win the purple cap with 28 wickets to his name.


This was our guide on the IPL Purple Cap 2023! 

We hope you have found this guide useful. If yes, then make sure to share your views in the comment section. We will update this post soon.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *