Fastest Ball in IPL History 

The player who is known for throwing the fastest ball in IPL history can be from your favourite team. He can also be the bowler whom you don’t know much. Well, this question has been answered below. Make sure to read this post completely and find the fastest IPL bowler ever. 

Indian Premier League is known as one of the most popular tournaments in the world. Every year, this tournament is played in India where players from different teams play on the field and show their skills. Thousands of people witness and enjoy their amazing performances. 

Fastest Ball in IPL History 

The IPL 2023 Schedule is out now.

When it comes to balling, Umran Malik has recently become an internet sensation. He has bowled about 150 times continuously with more than 157kmph speed. This is just a small fact about the IPL. Here you will find the bowler who delivered the fastest ball in IPL history

Top 10 Fastest Ball in IPL History

Reading the above paragraph you must be thinking that Umran Malik is known to deliver the fastest ball in IPL history. Well, there are many more powerful bowlers on this list. Below we have shared a detailed list of the top 10 fastest bowlers in IPL with their team names and fastest balling speed. The data is based on the official source. 

1Shaun Tait1157.7 kmphRajasthan Royals 
2Lockie Ferguson 157.3 kmphGujarat Titans 
3Umran Malik 157 kmphSunrises Hyderabad 
4Anrich Nortje 156.20 kmphDelhi Capitals 
5Anrich Nortje 154.80 kmphDelhi Capitals 
6Dale Steyn 154.40 kmphSunrises Hyderabad 
7Kagiso Rabada154.23 kmphPunjab Kings 
8Anrich Nortje 154.21 kmphDelhi Capitals 
9Umran Malik 154 kmphSunrises Hyderabad 
10Lockie Ferguson 153.72Gujarat Titans 

How did they deliver the fastest ball in IPL history?

Above we have shared the complete list of the fastest ball in IPL history and players who delivered with their team names. Now, you must get to know the full story behind each fastest ball in IPL. So, let’s get to know more about them. 

Fastest Ball in IPL History

Shaun Tait 

Currently, the fastest ball in IPL history is delivered by Shaun Tait in 2011 with a speed of 1157.7 kmph. He was playing for Rajasthan Royals that year and grabbed a total of 21 wickets in that season. He is still in the top position of the list. 

Fastest Ball in IPL History

Lockie Ferguson 

The next bowler on the list is Lockie Ferguson, he won the prize in the IPL for delivering a ball with a speed of 157.3 kmph. He was playing for the Gujarat Titans team against the Rajasthan Royals. He recently retired from IPL. 

Fastest Ball in IPL History

Umran Malik 

The internet sensation and also India’s fastest bowler, Umran Malik is next on the list for delivering a ball with a speed of 157 kmph. In the IPL season when he delivered this fastball, he was in the team Sunrises Hyderabad. He struck Rovman Powell with his fat ball. 

Anrich Nortje

Anrich Nortje is a South African baller who is on the fourth and fifth position of our list. When he delivered the balls, he was in the team of Delhi Capitals. He is known for being one of the fastest IPL bowlers in history with speeds of throwing balls at the rate of 156.20 kmph and 154.80 kmph.

Fastest Bowlers in the World 

Cricket is not limited to Indian Premier League for sure. There are many popular bowlers who are known as the fastest bowler in the world. Some of them played for IPL so they were included in this list but many of them have not played in the IPL or delivered the fastest balls outside of this tournament. 

You will get a full post on this topic here: Fastest Ball In Cricket History.

Fastest Ball in IPL History

You will be shocked to know that among the fastest bowlers in the world, the top position is held by a bowler from Pakistan, Shoaib Akhtar but he never played a single IPL match every. With this interesting fact, make sure to check more detials below. 

  • Shoaib Akhtar, Pakistan: 161.3 km/hr (100.2 mph)
  • Shaun Tait, Australia: 161.1 km/hr (100.1 mph)
  • Brett Lee, Australia: 160.8 km/hr (99.9 mph)
  • Jeffrey Thomson, Australia: 160.6 km/hr (99.8 mph)
  • Mitchell Starc, Australia: 160.4 km/hr (99.7 mph)
  • Andy Roberts, West Indies: 159.5 km/hr (99.1 mph)
  • Fidel Edwards, West Indies: 157.7 km/hr (97.9 mph)
  • Mitchell Johnson, Australia: 156.8 km/hr (97.4 mph)
  • Mohammad Sami, Pakistan: 156.4 km/hr (97.1 mph)
  • Shane Bond New, Zealand: 156.4 km/hr (97.1 mph)

Fastest Bowlers in India 

The Indian bowlers are always on the list of many records, so with the fastest ball in IPL history. As we already mentioned that Umran Malik is the fastest Indian bowler, you can read more about him above. Now, take a look at the fastest bowlers in India. 

1Umran Malik157 km/h
2Irfan Pathan153.7 km/h
3Mohammed Shami153.3 km/h
4Jasprit Bumrah153.26 km/h
5Navdeep Saini152.85 km/h

FAQ: Fastest Ball in IPL History 

Who is the fastest bowler of IPL 2022?

Lockie Ferguson is the fastest bowler of IPL 2022. He bowled the fastest ball in the 2022 IPL season, as he clocked 157.3 kph during the GT vs RR Final match.

Who is the Indian current fastest bowler in IPL?

Umran Malik currently holds the record of fastest bowler in India with a record bowling speed of 157 kph in IPL.

Who has bowled the fastest ball in IPL history?

Shaun Tait has bowled the fastest delivery in IPL, 157.71.


This was our guide on the fastest ball in IPL history. 

We hope you have found this guide useful. Does this list include your favourite bowler? If yes, then comment down your views below and let us know which topic we should cover next. And don’t forget to check our latest IPL post. 

The data provided in the list is collected from different sources and the official IPL website. And changes in that will be updated on our post soon. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *